top of page


Join us in extending a special thanks and congratulations to the recipients of this year’s MSA Outstanding Resident Awards! 

Anesthesia – Dr. Janice Yu

Diagnostic Imaging– Dr. Mostafa Alabousi

Emergency Medicine – Dr. Kathryn Chan

Family Medicine – Dr. Kathryn Cottrell

Lab Medicine – Dr. Alice Graham

Medicine – Dr. Zainab Al Maqrashi

Obstetrics and Gynecology – Dr. Sophie Vincent

Oncology – Dr. Jennifer Bisson

Pediatrics – Dr. Smita Roychoudhury

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation – Dr. Kate Wortley

Psychiatry– Dr. Megan Puckering

Surgery – Dr. Aneetinder Mann

2022 Resident MSA Award Recipients.png

Nominations are NOW CLOSED. The deadline was May 13th, 2022. Check back with us next year!

Find below letter to chiefs, chairs and program directors along with nomination form


Image by Jason Dent


To view complete list of Outstanding Resident Award Winners, click below


Hamilton Health Sciences (HHS) is proud to be a learning environment for healthcare leaders at the outset of their career. Thank you to each and every resident for your outstanding contributions and commitment to patients over the last year, particularly in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

While an in-person event could not be held again this year to celebrate the recipients of the Medical Staff Association (MSA) awards, we would like to extend a special thanks and congratulations to the recipients of this year’s MSA outstanding resident awards.

Read the Special Edition MSA Minute from C. Ross Here

Dr. Cameron Nishi, Anesthesia

Dr. Mallory Granholm, Diagnostic Imaging

Dr. Tara Stratton, Emergency Medicine

Dr. Sarah Alghamdi, Laboratory Medicine

Dr. Claire Bodkin, Family Medicine

Dr. Tammy Ryan, Medicine

Dr. Valerie Bloomfield, OB-GYN

Dr. Jonathan Peng, Oncology

Dr. Alexander Freibauer, Pediatrics

Dr. Ronelle Calver, PM&R

Dr. Colin Ngan, Psychiatry (city wide)

Dr. Sepideh Mohajeri, Surgery


Dr. Dillon Horth, Anesthesia
Dr. Natasha Larocque, Diagnostic Imaging
Dr. Farah Jazuli, Emergency Medicine
Dr. Edwin Ho, Laboratory Medicine
Dr. Katie Mattina, Family Medicine
Dr. Kenji (Richard) Onizuka, Medicine
Dr. Jay Tigdi, OB-GYN
Dr. Michela Febbraro, Oncology
Dr. Hannah Geddie, Pediatrics
Dr. Jamie Fleet, PM&R
Dr. Madeleine Wootton, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Dr. Ali Alsagheir, Surgery

As new medical residents launch their new career, a group of 12 current residents celebrate a big achievement. The Medical Staff Association (MSA) announced their 2020 winners of the Outstanding Resident Awards. The awards recognize one individual from each department at HHS who demonstrate excellence in patient care. Each department establishes its own criteria to select a winner.

“It’s an absolute honour to recognize these 12 strong individuals who exemplify the very best about being a resident at HHS,” says Dr. Catherine Ross, President, MSA. “Each one of them is a leader and will continue to provide excellent patient care for many years. The MSA is proud of this outstanding group and wish them well in their chosen careers.

Due to COVID-19, the awards ceremony has been moved to November.

You can see a collage of their acceptance videos Here

bottom of page